Meaning of the Sixth Chakra

Meaning of the Sixth Chakra

By | 2015-06-05T10:58:47+00:00 June 5th, 2015|Healing|0 Comments

Meaning of the Sixth Chakra | ItThe sixth chakra is possibly the most well known of all: the third eye. It sits between the eyes, in the middle of the forehead. It represents clarity of the mind. A major cause of imbalance in this chakra is to cling to a rigid, controlling mindset. That resistance to spontaneity separates you from a curious perspective.

In Sanskrit, this energy center is known as Ajna, “to command.” I think of it as the command center. This is the chakra that provides thoughtful insights and directions. Their instructions are clean and untethered. They lack a dramatic overtone. All the valuable knowledge in my life that is worth listening to and responding to comes from this center.

When fortified, this wisdom is easily distinguishable from the false messages of the ego. One of the easiest ways I tell them apart is to ask the questions, “Is this a demand or a suggestion?” and, “Does this feel personal or of service to the greater good?” The ego’s demands become easily identifiable. The ego demands have a selfish agenda, whereas the requests of our inner wisdom have a pure purpose and beneficial outcome for all.

The power and clarity of the sixth chakra can be difficult to access in times of danger and heartbreak. When my familiar reality changed forever as a child, my sixth chakra shut down in an effort to protect me from reoccurring pain. As I grew into adulthood, I yearned to find a way to control the events of my life, and my own reactions, and to protect myself against further heartache, but my sixth chakra wasn’t balanced enough for me to hear and be guided.

When I found self care, I began to heal and cultivated the ability to hear and be guided by this center. Meditation, yoga, and chanting helped set this peaceful course for my life. Gentle practices and quiet moments of reflection polished the lens of my Ajna chakra so that I could see the world clearly again.

Life keeps rolling on, bringing delight and devastation, continually, and the only successful choice we have is to learn strengthening practices that help us navigate our way through all that shows up for us to deal with it and a very reliable compass is a healthy, well balanced sixth chakra.

Ajna Considerations:

  • The Third Eye, in other words, clarity of mind
  • The command center of your mind, providing insight and direction
  • In balance, it steers you towards self-nourishing behavior that benefits others as well
  • Out of balance, it can be dominated by the selfish ego
  • Imbalances manifest as drama in your life and relationships
  • A healthy sixth chakra acts as your truest compass, pointing you in the right direction no matter how winding your path becomes

About the Author:

Sarah Brassard’s passion lies in teaching people how to create a foundation for self-care, a method of wellness that brings profound opportunities for transformation. She is the author of Inside: A Guide to the Resources Within to Stay Vibrant and Alive Through All Life’s Challenges. The book details the self-care practices and protocols that sparked her healing journey and that she has been sharing with students and clients for the past fifteen years.

Leave A Comment